You are here

Commissioners Deal with Annual Business & Appointments

Two new members have been named to the Fremont County Planning Commission.   The appointments were part of a series of New Years business handled by the Fremont County Board of Commissioners at their January 14th meeting.    The Commissioners appointed Gardner Fey of Cañon City and Tina Heffner of Penrose to three year terms on the Planning Commission replacing Joe Lamanna and Mike Krauth, Jr. who did not seek reappointment.   Fey and Heffner were among three applicants who submitted letters of interest.    The Commissioners presented Lamanna and Krauth with Certificates expressing appreciation for their term of service on the Commission.

Joe Lamanna (left) and Mike Krauth Jr. hold Certificates of Appreciation for their terms of service on the Fremont County Planning Commission. Commissioners Ed Norden, Tim Payne, and Debbie Bell are pictured making the presentation.

In the reorganizational meeting District 1 Commissioner Tim Payne was elected the new Chairman of the Board of Commissioners replacing Debbie Bell who completed two years as the Chairman.   Payne and District 3 Commissioner Ed Norden presented Bell with a plaque and gavel expressing appreciation for her leadership the past two years.    Norden was elected as the Chairman Pro-Tem.   Bell will serve during 2014 as Chairman of the County Board of Social Services.

The Commissioners also filled vacancies on the Fremont County Fair Board and the County Fair Sales Committee.   Marsha Bouchard, Ralph Kunselman, Tami Ratkovich, and Linda Valdez were all reappointed to three year terms on the Fair Board.   New appointees to the Fair Board for three year terms are Jolene Phillips and John Daniels.   Brent Adams was appointed to a two year term to fill a vacancy and Josh Hawk was appointed to a one year term due to a vacancy.   Commissioner Norden expressed appreciation to Debbie Chess and Don Gray for their hard work as they leave the Fair Board after many years of service.

The Commissioners reappointed Gina Gresenti, Jared Huston, and Kathy Kunselman to three year terms on the newly created 4-H Sales Committee and appointed Linda Valdez to a one year term to fill a vacancy created by a resignation.

In other business at the January 14th Board meeting the Commissioners:

  • Reappointed Brenda Jackson as County Attorney;
  • Adopted resolutions designating official bank depositories for the county, designating the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays at 9:30 a.m. for regular board meetings, designating official newspapers, and designated official posting places for public meeting notices;
  • Reappointed Dave Boden and Rich Thatcher to the Fremont County Board of Zoning Adjustment;
  • Reappointed Paul Garrett and Steve Oswald to the Fremont County Weed Advisory Board;
  • Approved a resolution transferring funds between different accounts to help close out the 2013 budget;
  • Approved a resolution allowing for a population exemption of up to 2,000 people per precinct to avoid creating two new election precincts in the county;
  • Approved an amendment to the County Subdivision Regulations dealing with corrections to subdivision plats.   The amendment actually reduces wording in the regulations from 7 pages to 2 pages.